That Wasn’t Me


10653841_574285950821_1218856080922642977_n

As humans, it would seem we are fated to be the sum of our experiences. Sometimes our collection of experiences make you something you’re truly not while on the inside you know what you are.

These days I find my outside self is finally starting to match my inner truthiness. But why did my experience have to include such a shitty burden? Didn’t I deserve to live without such a horrendous burden, an awful experience?

I accept that a person cannot be broken. Instead it is the environment around them that forms the cracks and breaks. I own the responsibility to do the hard work to uncover what it was that got me here and do whatever is necessary to reclaim the part of me that I knew to be good. To fix the cracks in the surface of my environment.

This is the first time in my life that I feel open to focusing on myself.

I think transformation is misdefined as something superhuman. You want to be who you are destined to be. I came to understand that I had to give myself permission to expand, grow, and evolve- to put myself first.

The unexamined life is not worth living for a human being. -Socrates

I am working hard to accept that had I not gone through the trauma and pain, I may not have had the pleasure of an examined life. I have stopped allowing myself to be held hostage by my past and am no longer a victim, but a survivor.

Leave a Reply

