Writing 101, Day Five: Be Brief


Today’s Prompt: You stumble upon a random letter on the path. You read it. It affects you deeply, and you wish it could be returned to the person to which it’s addressed. Write a story about this encounter.

Today’s twist: Approach this post in as few words as possible.

IMG_0049

I stand at a fork on a path in the woods holding a letter. A letter that has every word I’d ever hoped for. But sadly, it wasn’t for me. It was for her, from him. And so begins the internal debate, do I take this letter to her? Or do I play “finder’s keepers”? She is my best friend; but he is the man I wish would dream about me. Before I can decide, a large gust of wind blows by like a tornado, sending the letter somewhere into the woods. Which path should I take?

3 thoughts on “Writing 101, Day Five: Be Brief

  1. The thing that I like most about your post is the fact that there are a few decisions that now hinge on the letter itself. I totally get the speaker’s emotional state given what he’s read. I understand why he feels he’s at a crossroads and isn’t quite sure how to proceed. You’ve done an excellent job of speaking to ME in that regard.

    Pacing is good, as is your word choice. The only thing that confuses me slightly is the following:
    “She is my best friend; but he is the man I wish would dream about me.”

    Is that intentional or just a typo?

    The last visual of the wind taking that letter away into the distance is a nice cap to a nicely written piece. Kudos!

    Like

    • Thanks for taking the time to read and comment on my piece. It’s the first fiction I’ve written in a while.
      I never realized that up until that sentence, the narrator was androgynous. Hmmmm that might make me reword that sentence to keep it that way. 🙂

      Like

      • There’s absolutely nothing wrong with it as is, but I figured that I’d point it out; mainly because that sentence is awkward.

        Regardless, not a bad job. *Thumbs up*

        Like

Leave a Reply

