Writing 101, Day Two: A Room with a View (Or Just a View)


Today’s prompt: We’re all drawn to certain places. If you had the power to get somewhere — anywhere — where would you go right now? For your twist, focus on building a setting description.

I imagine the wind will caress my face and give my body goosebumps. The combination of sun and surf will form my hair into a wavy mess like a plate of spaghetti. The sound of people speaking English will be foreign to me as I have only heard their accents on TV and in movies. Surfers in the distance ride the gnarly waves and remind me of the star course on Mario Kart.
My feet will nervously step one in front of the other as I climb higher and higher atop the steel beams of the bridge. I’m sure they will tell me not to but I will almost certainly look down. What’s the point of being way up there and not taking in the view of the harbor, the opera house and the big blue expanse of sea and sky?
A train or bus will take me across the vast, dry land to another city. I will feel at home in an urban hub where I can overdose on culture, cuisine, and music. When my eyes get heavy I will return to my boutique hotel room. I’ll be bold and fill the air with my best Beethoven impression on the piano.
The smell of the sea returns upon a ferry heading to an island where a mighty parade of cute little penguins will waddle out of the ocean and into their sandy burrows. On the other side of the island I might witness a large colony of seals, even use an underwater camera to get up close and personal without leaving the boardwalk.
I won’t want to return, but I’m sure I’ll miss home.

 

 

406902_537723806651_1940835877_n

Leave a Reply

