Writing 101, Day One: Unlock the Mind


Today’s prompt: To get started, let’s loosen up. Let’s unlock the mind. Today, take twenty minutes to free write. And don’t think about what you’ll write. Just write.

Writing 101, first prompt. Unlock your mind. Now where’s my key? I’m sure it was right here a second ago. It’s a bit rusty so I hope it doesnt break, the cradle will fall. And down will come baby, baby, baby oooooohhh like baby, baby, baby got back. Back to life, back to reality, back to the place inside. Sometimes you make me feel like I’m intoxicated. I can’t wait to be hungover. I really enjoyed that movie. Helped me turn off my mind. Much like the meditation I do in the morning. -Yeah, but if we catch ourselves in circles for this moment I’ve got to get through this, gotta get through this. Gotta take, gotta take my mind off of you. Give me just one second and I’ll be OK Computer is one of the best albums of my life. Thom Yorke is brilliant, wonderful and I am sure that he is excessively delicate. Much like I was the first time I saw them in concert. I was 15 and had to lie to my parents (sorry Mom and Dad!) to go see them. According to them I was at the homecoming dance. So perhaps I was a little overdressed but it was most definitely worth it. The contestant from Minneapolis is going to the bonus round. I forgot how much I dig game shows. I wish I could understand more Korean so I could watch the ones on local TV. Low battery remaining, 20% Dismiss. Timer is finished, OK.

One thought on “Writing 101, Day One: Unlock the Mind

  1. Pingback: Writing 101, Day Three: Commit to a Writing Practice | Jessica's Jiggae

Leave a Reply

