Mama needs her music (The Daily Prompt)


Can't Live Without My Radio

Can’t Live Without My Radio

Today’s daily prompt asks, ‘What role does music play in your life?’

Over the years, I have learned about a few triggers I have. For one, don’t let me go without food for too long or I will go all Godzilla on your ass. Also, if I’m angry at something, get angry with me, or I’m likely to turn on you. And if we are kissing partners, don’t make me do all the work- I’m a woman who wants to be swept off her feet dammit (but don’t actually try and pick me up because we will both fall to the ground in a big pile of adipose).

Speaking of love and passion, music feeds my soul. It all goes back to my Fisher Price 45 record player that my wise uncle gifted me, along with his copies of Kool in the Gang Celebration; Beach Boys Surfin’ USA; and Blood, Sweat and Tears Spinning Wheel. I worked as an intern at MPR’s 89.3 The Current in college and for the first time I loved my job something serious. I would have married myself to that job, but my student loans would have followed me to the grave at that pay-grade. All day long, all I was tasked to do was rip CDs, categorize them and listen for ‘swears’ on songs so they could be marked for radio edits.

Day in and day out, I did the same thing. Every once in a while I would be asked to take photos of an in-studio or to work at one of the community events the station organized, but for the most part my job helped me relate to Bill Murray in Groundhog Day. Somehow the repetition, the low rank on the totem pole or even the 1-hour commute by bus every day couldn’t get in the way of my love for that job. It would have been perfect if they were willing to pay me the salary of an executive while still doing the job as an intern.

Fast forward to 5+ years later. I am now living in Seoul, South Korea. I have a fantastic boyfriend, a cute dog and a pretty laid back job. Life is good. I even have some work on the side that I can do from the comfort of my own home. (Yes, those jobs actually DO exist- I was shocked too.) That work on the side is extremely easy, but hugely repetitious. It puts my actions on a short loop where the set of tasks is completed about once every 3-4 minutes, and there are typically 4-5 hours of work to complete each week. Luckily, I can usually spread it out so I only have to focus for 30 minutes at a time, but lately there has been an influx of work and so, I have 5-10 hours of work a week requiring me to increase my 30-minute work session to 45-minutes. At first, this wasn’t so miserable; but then, it happened. I finally hit my wall.

Runners talk about that wall they hit where they feel like they just couldn’t run anymore if their lives depended on it. That even the most seasoned runner can be in the middle of a marathon, and all of a sudden they want to head to the sidelines to start handing out water with the other onlookers. How do they cope with it? Maybe they visualize or refocus or turn on a power song from their iPod.

Power song. . . that got me thinking. . .

So, I put some music on the speakers. Suddenly, I was Rocky sprinting up the stairs and air punching my way through some work. And that’s when I realized (future employers beware) I can’t put one foot on that wall until I have some good music to work to.

What do you do to keep yourself motivated?

Leave a Reply

