Don’t hate me but. . . I’m not coming back


His heart fluttered as he did the first thing he could think of, call his girlfriend. Finally deliver the news that not all was lost. Their prayers had been answered, and the horror and pain of the last several months would finally come to an end.

It was as if they had taken a journey down the rabbit hole only to find it full of foxes. He had found that he couldn’t protect her from their sharp teeth and massive appetites. He had a hard enough time saving himself. He was full of cuts and bruises from all the fighting. All he wanted to do was crawl out, but he knew that in doing so he would just leave her vulnerable. Those wolves would eat her alive.

She was just trying to maintain sanity. As much as she tried to distract the wolves or help him fight them, she felt powerless. No matter how hard she tried, she couldn’t get between them and him. There was a point where she even told him to go, to run for his life. She would take care of the wolves on her own just so she wouldn’t have to see him suffer anymore. She didn’t mind her own suffering as long as it kept him safe.

But now neither of them would have to choose because the wolves were dying of starvation. The animal’s failed attempts at creating meals out of them finally grew too many. Now these once powerful animals were dying off one by one.

Then, just as they were ready to get up the strength to run out together feeling bruised, battered and torn, he got a call.

“Uchon just called me back, they want to reconsider hiring me!”

“They what?! OMG!”

“Should I take it? Or should we just stick to our regular plan?”

“NO, holy moley, take it!”

“OK! You start looking for an apartment. This is so surreal.”

“I’m so happy! I love you!!”

“I love you, too!”

Little did either of them know at that moment, even though the wolves were dead, they left so many bruises and scars. The pain would haunt them long after the bodies of their once feral enemies decomposed. But for now, they would live happily ever after.

Loved their jobs.

Loved their apartment.

Loved their friends.

Loved their dog.

Loved each other.

Life was good. So they weren’t coming home. At least not yet.

Lovers on top

About Jessica Ibarra

I am artist looking for her voice. A lady with a love for her classroom and all the office supplies that occupy it. A believer in the idea that inanimate objects have parties when you are not there.

2 comments

  1. Good day I am so excited I found your website, I really found you by error, while I was looking on Google for something else, Regardless I am here now and would just like to say many thanks for a tremendous post and a all round thrilling blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to browse it all at the minute but I have book-marked it and also included your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read much more, Please do keep up the great job.|

    Like

    • ph0t0ch1ck

      Hey! Thanks a lot for taking the time to read and post a comment. As Frued might argue, nothin happens by accident. ;)

      Like

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,468 other followers

